EU executive to stop countries bringing back border controls


The EU executive is to unveil legislation denying national governments the power to curb freedom of movement across Europe’s passport-free travel zone.

The European commission proposals will put Brussels on a collision course with France, Italy, Germany and other EU countries that jealously guard their authority over national borders and are pushing for greater leeway to limit Europe’s no-borders regime.

The free travel regime known as the Schengen system – embracing 22 EU countries as well as Switzerland, Norway and Iceland – was called into question earlier this year when the Italian and French leaders, Silvio Berlusconi and Nicolas Sarkozy, feuded over a small influx of immigrants from Tunisia. Read More Here

Use Facebook to Comment on this Post

Written by

No Comments Yet.

Leave a Reply


Protected by WP Anti Spam
What is 2 + 5 ?
Please leave these two fields as-is:
IMPORTANT! To be able to proceed, you need to solve the following simple math (so we know that you are a human) :-)


%d bloggers like this: